• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

3.4l engine swap

85Chief

NAXJA Forum User
Hey guys. I've heard a lot about the 3.4l engine swap (from 93-95 camaro/ firebird) and I was wondering if you think its worth it. I have found a 95 engine with 60,000 miles on it for a little over $600. I'm restoring my '85 Chief, and am wanting more power b/c I turned over 180,000 on the old power house. (yes....thats the 2.8) What have you heard about this swap, and can it be preformed easily? I've heard that it bolts up to everything nicely.

Any help is welcome.....I'm a beginner at this rebuilding stuff, so explain as best as possible. Thanks for your time

Go for it. What you have heard is correct -- this is THE simplest and most direct way to replace an aging 2.8L in a Cherokee. The 3.4L (rear wheel drive version) is built on the same 60-degree block as the 2.8L so it is a bolt in conversion.

To make it work in a Cherokee, it's easiest if you use the Cherokee intake and exhaust manifolds and peripheral brackets. The 2.8L uses a mechanical fuel pump mounted on the engine. The 3.4L doesn't have any provision for this, so if you stay with the carburetor you'll need to install an electric fuel pump. Not a big deal, and more reliable than the old diaphragm units anyway.

You also have the option of getting the complete injection wiring and computer from the donor vehicle and converting to EFI. That gets a bit more complicated, but it's possible.

The 2.8L used an externally-balanced flywheel/flex plate. The 3.4L doesn't, so you'll need to take your flywheel or flex plate to a good machine shop and have it zero balanced.

1986xj said:

Followed the GM Goodwrench link. Lot of good info on the little parts and pieces that are needed on the last page. Thanks for the links.