• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Full width D44 question - how did you do it

old_man

NAXJA Forum User
I'm going to put a Ford HP Dana44 under the front of my XJ. I don't plan to narrow it. The axle I have has the radius mounts that don't have the tube all the way through it.

My question has to do with adding the coil buckets and arm mounts. How have some of you guys done it. It appears that from my initial measurements that if I keep the coil buckets centered under where the original XJ coils were, that the buckets will be half on the axle tube and half on the casting. Is that how you guys mounted yours? Did you weld to the cast? Any problems. Did you fab your own brackets and buckets or did you find a good (cheap) setup somewhere?

I am an experienced fabricator and an engineer by trade, but would rather learn from someone elses mistakes instead of my own.

I used F150 buckets mounted to some box tubing that I welded to the cast section and tube like you're describing. If my computer was still alive I'd throw up a picture for you. I used a rod called super missile. It's a specialty rod that runs $30/lb :eek: In hindsight, I'm thinking I could've gotten away with just using some 7018.

Sean

I will probably end up MIG'n it. You know what they say, if you put enough boogers on it, surely it will hold :doh:

Did you guys fab your own mounts for the suspension or did you adapt something? I'm working 60 hours a week and as much as I like to do it all myself, sometimes buying a little of someone elses time makes sense. It seems like I've seen some generic brackets for the uppers listed somewhere.