• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

axle shaft upgrade

B Diddy

NAXJA Forum User
I'm looking to change my front axle shafts to the ones with the 297 U joints (dana 30). What specific year will fit in my 88 cherokee? Does it have to be from an xj or can it come out of a yj, etc.
Thanks

B Diddy said:
I'm looking to change my front axle shafts to the ones with the 297 U joints (dana 30). What specific year will fit in my 88 cherokee? Does it have to be from an xj or can it come out of a yj, etc.
Thanks

is your axle disconnect or not? if disconnect then '95 YJ shafts will work. if not TJ shafts will work.

dennisuello said:
is your axle disconnect or not? if disconnect then '95 YJ shafts will work. if not TJ shafts will work.

I'm a real mechanical newbie...........what do you mean by disconnect. Sorry for my ignorance, still learning!

if you didnt change the factory front axle it will have a vacuum disco' motor.

you can get a kit from warn to swap to 1 peice TJ/91+XJ shafts

to definately tell if you have disco or not. on the passenger side of the axle there will be a box with a vacuum hose coming out of it between the LCA and pumpkin.

I can say for sure that SOME 88's came with non-disco axles (I have one). The TJ shafts will work, but if you're changing hubs at the same time make sure they fit your model year. The newer hub/brake rotor combo does not fit on the older XJ/YJ's, and the same goes for the older ones onto the newer XJ's and TJ's.

Hmmmm.... I have np242 1990 xj limited and have that vac box on passenger side with a vacum hose?? , I know because I had to repair the hose ? Maybe my front has been changed ??