• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

HELP installing front springs

rob in wmi

NAXJA Forum User
i am installing a 2 in lift and i tell my dad im puting new front springs on and he flips out and says "if i were you i would have somebody install them for you they are very dangerus" if you follow the instructions and drop the axel and stuff like that is it hard

Number One you neeed to listen to your Dad!

Seconedly, it can be dangerous. But it's not rocket science either. I only did it once. So I'm no expert therfore, I may leave out something too. Find a friend or a shop teacher etc to help ya.

You will have to buy a coil spring compression tool. $25 local or alot cheaper on ebay.

1. Properly block and set emergency brake
2. Raise vehicle and place jack stands under frame
3. Remove tires
4. Remove shocks by loosening top nuts under the hood
5. Remove the bolt keeper at the bottom of the coil spring
6. Take special care with the coil spring compressor tool, tighen each side a little at a time.

Do some searches and find a wesite that shows some pictures too.

:huh:
you don't need use a coil compressor unless you are lazy and dont want to disconnect the axle, and for a 2" lift there is not need to disconnect the axle.

1. ebrake it
2. lossen up lug nuts
3. jack it up
4. put jack stands on
5. take tires off
6. take a good look at it right now so you will remember where it all goes
7. disconnect shocks
8. take off coils
9. put on new ones
10. and put everything back

Yes, it can be very dangerous but be carefull, take your time and learn how to work on your rig yourself. It will save you money and give you a better sense of ownership and pride in your junk.

just my .02 about that... no one is working on my rig if I can do it.