• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Power tank opinions

Silver Bullet

NAXJA Forum User
I am hoping to add a 10lb Powertank to my XJ this summer and was wondering what you guys think of them verse a regular ARB/Viar etc compressor. I thought the Powertank would be a better option becuase I could run tools off it and it seems to have the fastest tire inflation time.
Also how hard is it to find a shop to refill it, and what does the it cost.

Thanks
Silver Bullet

i have a line on a guy in RI who makes ""powertanks" by reconditioning old CO2 extinguishers and using a new CO2 regulator... 1/2 the price of a powertank setup.. a friend of mine has one and im geting one soon too... although i have no first hand experience, i have heard that CO2 doesnt do well with airtools and i assume its due to icing up.. but havent really loooked into it... pm me and ill get you some info,
mike

CO2 is fine w/ airtools - use a little extra oil to compensate for the condensation that forms from cooling/evaporation.

I've been the powetank regulator for a couple of years now and it's prety darn nice!

I don't have their fancy tank, though. Costs me $12 to exchange a 15lb tank at the local welder's supply.

power tank