• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Stock air intake box

Atl XJ

NAXJA Forum User
Okay, this question has probably been asked before so bear with me here.

I have a 95 XJ 4.0l with the stock intake box (minus the air horn restrictor thing). The bottom of the air intake on the front has a rectangular opening that the air flows into. What I don't understand is in front of the air intake box there is a plastic plate on the body. Its kind of behind the headlight. Anyway, it looks like if this plastic piece were removed I would get more air flow into the intake. Is this a good idea? It looks like its only held in by a few screws. Sometimes I'm not very good at explaining things so I can explain better if necessary.:dunno:

Okay, I just read that it has something to do with emmisions and making the engine warm up better is this correct? Will it give me any better air flow or should I just leave it on. I do get emmissions tested, but I could always just put it one before my test. I don't really see how that could make a difference on an emmisions test though.

Atl XJ said:
Okay, I just read that it has something to do with emmisions and making the engine warm up better is this correct? Will it give me any better air flow or should I just leave it on. I do get emmissions tested, but I could always just put it one before my test. I don't really see how that could make a difference on an emmisions test though.
HI, Read your post about the plate that is bolted, it's just a plastic plate that is held in place with 2 metal screws.I removed it on my 97 4.0. Didn't see any terffic differince but what'sthat little bit of air haven't noticed any difference even during cold weather this winter. [email protected]