• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Had a little mis-hap on the motorcycle today (sorta long)

Andy in Pa.

NAXJA Member #180
Hey folks,

I officially de-flowered my motorcycle today. Suffice it to say, I have been riding a motorcycle for quite a few years and, besides a few close calls with some idiots pulling out in front of me, have had no mis-haps. That changed today in a flash. I was clipping along enjoying my ride home from work, enjoying some recent suspension mods I had made to the bike, when I made a left onto another road, and before I knew it, I was on my hands and knees sliding along the pavement. Besides a few brush burns on one knee and on my elbows and a sore shoulder, I am OK. The motorcycle is a little scraped but not bad either. I think I stuck a carb float though, it has a slight miss now. I'll have to pull it apart this weekend and check it out.

The reason I ended up in a heep on the pavement you ask????????

Some idiot had a MAJOR oil leak of some kind. I got right up off the pavement right away and walked over and put my fingers in what I slipped in and it felt like gear oil, but it was hard to tell with my leather gloves on, it could have been fresh diesel fuel. By the way, if I had not had my leather gloves on, I would have been having difficulty typing this right now. The gloves are fine too, just a little softer in the palm area.

Besides having the POOP scared out of me, I was PISSED!! I have ridden across slippery spots before and felt the front or the back give a little, but have always been able to compensate. This was a friggin oil slick in the middle of the road!! Even if I had been going slower I still would have slipped. Cars were skidding to a stop in the spill also.