• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

D30 front axle, reverse rotation or not?

Joshs350XJ

NAXJA Forum User
Hello, I am looking at new ring and pinions for the stock D30 D35 axles in my 86 Cherokee Pioneer. However i have no idea whether the D30 is "high pinion" or "reverse rotation" or whatever. I'm new to Jeeps so i could use all the jeep common sense you have to offer.

If the front axle is original, for an '86 it is a "reverse rotation" (or high pinion) axle. Jeep switched to low pinion front axles in the XJ in model year 2000.

Your rear axle is not a reverse rotation, regardless of year or axle model.

Gah! I hate it when people say "reverse rotation" It leads to spread of misinformation and people making ill-informered decisions.

The XJ axles are hi-pinion axles, which means that the pinion gear comes in and meshes with the ring gear above the axle centerline. The rear axle is low-pinion, which means the pinion comes in below the axle centerline.

Hi-pinion axles use reverse cut gears. Reverse cut gears ONLY work in hi-pinion axles, and hi-pinion axles can only use reverse cut gears. The other option is standard cut gears. These are only for low-pinion axles.

Why standard and reverse cuts? It has to do with strength and in what directions the gears are rotating. For a particular gear cut, there is a drive side and a coast side. The gear is used in the manner is which it is strongest when the driving force coming from the pinion gear hits the drive side of the ring gear. Pretty much every rear axle I know of is low-pinion. This is because the standard cut gear (which are the only cut of gears in low-pinion axles, remember) uses the drive side of the teeth when the vehicle is moving forward.