• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

3" lift questions

Diablito

NAXJA Forum User
My Girlfriend is getting an XJ soon and wants to lift it.Is Rusty's offroad 3" kit any good?How hard is it to install a 3"kit on the XJ? I know how to do the SOA in the rear , but I have never worked with coils before( I have a YJ).I'm very excited about the addition of an XJ to the family.With a 3" lift do I need to install a slip yoke eliminator kit on the tcase and use a custom drive?Thanks for any feed back. :scottm:

Installation isnt too hard- may take you a day. I recomend a coil compresor or something tho. As far as i know you do not need a slip yoke or any thing other than the lift itself (shocks, coils/spacers, etc.)
have fun!!!
CODEMAN

the front is definitly more complicated than the back but not to difficult. I dont even think u need a coil compressor. The only thing u need is that front brake line for when u disconnect sways. The transfer case drop is not necessary till u go bigger. just make sure u have help to do the job because without extra people helpin i dont think i could have dont everything on my own. does the kit come with lower control arms....that is usually somethin u may need.

The XJ already is SOA so you got that covered just by getting one ;)

I loved the 3" Rusty's coils I got for my MJ a few years ago, but that & shox were all I used from that kit.

I've got a 6+" XJ with 231 and I don't use a SYE (yet) just a YJ yoke so a generic answer is "no." 97-newer XJs are reported to be more vibe prone, but I have no first-hand on that. It may have more to do with the C8.25 axle than the slipyoke???