• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

86 v6 to a 87 straight 6- Doable?

Codeman

NAXJA Forum User
Hey there! I'm new to this site!
I have a black 94 xj, mostly stock(for a little while) Here is my question- sorry if it sounds a bit novice- I have an 86 xj with a blown v6 engine, and an 87 that has been rolled with a perfectly good I6. I was wondering if anyone knows how hard it would be to switch the I6 into the 86 - is it just bolt up, or do I have to pull the whole dash and electrical, hoses, etc? Also, are there more than 1 type of v6 made for jeeps- and if so, does that make a difference?
I think all xjs are unibody, but if not.... would it just be easier to switch bodys? I've got some very experienced and knowledgeable friends helping me, and I need an answer as soon as possible- thanks a ton to any and all!!!!

CODEMAN!!

XJ's have been unibody vehicles since inception - that was one of the big "selling points" of the XJ. That's also part of why it weighs less than comparable box-and-frame vehicles.

It is doable to put the I6 into the 84-86XJ, but you are letting yourself in for a batch of work. When the I6 came out for the 1987MY, the front clip was lengthened a bit to allow for the longer I6 block. You've got a batch of sheetmetal work to do to fit the I6 - some digging around here can net you some details. I know a few here have done the swap, so it's not impossible.