• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Smooth riding lift

Ed Wulfe+

NAXJA Forum User
I am presently running a mostly Rusty's 4.5 " lift on my '92, with 31's and 4.10's, Rancho 9000's. Overall I like the set-up but am tired of the highway ride--over small bumps. Is there a lift that would give me a better ride? Also I am thinking of going to 32's. What is the thinking of 32's with 4.10's?
Thanks,
NAXJA #67

if you want to stay at that height you will have a hard time fiding a good riding lift. i have no first hand experience, but i have heard old man emu rides better than factory, but only offers a 2 or 2.5 inch lift. also the lift is kinda pricey. 4.10's with 32's is good but i run 33's with factory gears and it works just fine.
jimmy

smooth lift ride

i've had both. old man emu is definitely the most comfortable lifted ride you're gonna find out there. better than stock! but... unless you want to use spacers and shackles, you're going to be limited to 2.5". i'm currently running rusty's 4.5", soon to be running rusty's 6" rear packs with 4.5" springs and jks adj. spacer in the front. if you want the hieght, stay with what you have now (unless its an AAL, then switch to the packs...they flex better) rather than opting for another manufacturer. rusty's gets his springs from the same place RE does, but he opts for the softer spring rates. i've felt the ride on my buddies xj's (one superlift, one RE, and one teraflex), and there is little comparison in ride comfort. rusty's has the others beat in this venue. also, i had rusty's 4.5" on for a year without any sag. his new leaf packs are better too.

I will contradict. I am running 6.5" Alcans with Teraflex BB shackles and Rockrawler 6" Coils. And Rancho 9000's. 33x12.50 MTR's