• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

XJ Drive train compatibility

talon39

NAXJA Forum User
Sorry I'm a noob. I have a 1990 Jeep Cherokee Laredo 4.0L Automatic transmission 2wd.
I want to convert it to 4wd Automatic trans.
First I need to know what Parts I currently have and what parts I need to replace and what to replace it with.
For example will I have to replace my trans? If so which automatic trans are compatible with the 4.0L and will fit 4wd?
I just need as much info as possible on what configurations I can use and what vehicles I might get the parts from. If there is a resource on the web I can use to educate my self on the parts used in XJ drive trains, please post it.
I currently have the opportunity to buy a 1990 Cherokee 4wd with a 2.8L and Manual trans. for $400. However Im not sure if I can use any of the parts.

TIA

Last edited:
Alright man, here you go...

Transmission: Most just replace it, you theoretically can change the tail end of it over to the shorter version, but it's more trouble than it's worth, AW4's (the 4.0 liter's automatic transmission) are a dime a dozen.

Front Axle Try to find one that is not a vacuum disconnect model, in other words, if there's any hoses (aside from the differential vent tube) going to the transmission don't get it)
Front Driveshaft
Transfer Case
Transfer Case Linkage
Transfer Case Shifter & Bezel
Rear Driveshaft

It's not quite as bad as it sounds though, if you have an experianced person with XJ's with you I don't see a reason why it can't be done on one full day of wrenching. Just wonder though the bone yards looking for the stuff, I'd try to get as much of it off of the same vehicle as possible, just to keep from accidently getting wrong parts.

Sequoia

PS: We were all "noob's" once :D