• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Manual to Auto Swap (aka Blasphemy)

Prefontaine

NAXJA Forum User
Hi all,

My last thread was about putting an NP-242 behind an AX-15...that plan is on hold indefinitely.

I have a physically demanding job that takes its toll on my back, and the problem isn't getting any better. I'm also doubtful it'll improve even after I stop doing this for a living (I fly for the military) based on x-rays and conversations with my docs. Nothing unbearable or worth complaining about, but driving a manual -- specifically one with a reasonably heavy clutch -- is getting old (just like me). My Jeep is my DD as well.

It pains me to consider this, because I searched for a manual XJ for so long. And I have enough love for my current Jeep (and mods/$$$ in it) that I don't want to just buy an auto XJ and move on. So, with that in mind, I'm considering doing an AX-15 to AW-4 swap (and bolting up the NP242 I have in the process).

Has anyone done this? Nearly all the writeups I see are the other way around. I'm considering just getting a donor 98+ XJ and making it factory. Looks like an RADesigns shifter is an option if I wanted to stop short of some wiring work, but I don't mind taking the time to make it 100% (might do the RADesigns shifter at a later time though if it seems worthwhile).

Outside of the donor Jeep, I plan on tracking down some 4.10 axles as well (I run 31x10.5 tires on a 3.5" lift).

On a final note, while I consider this...anyone out there with a good AW4 wanting to swap the other way around? Would need 98+ for all the wiring, electrical outputs/inputs to the trans, etc. I'm located in Virginia (Newport News area). Alternatively, any tips on finding a wrecked XJ? Would be nice to find one I need for <$1000.