• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

New to Jeeps. Want to buy my first. Difference between Cherokee, and Grand Chrokee

RichCo

NAXJA Forum User
Hello everyone.

My name is Rich.

I am completely new to Jeeps.
But i am facinated, and want to own one.

I have heard that the most recommended years are 1998, and 1999.
I am wondering about the differences between the Cherokee.
And the Grand Cherokee.

I am looking for a daily driver that can handle the wet and snow, and huge potholes, of Oregon.
And the ocassional trip to the mountains, or forrest.
Im not ready, yet, to build a serious offroad vehicle.

What years, or styles would you recommend.

Thank You
Rich

Well, that's a pretty broad question Rich.

For the Cherokee, there were two body styles of the XJ - the 84-96 and the 97-01. With the exception of the early years when a 2.8 L V6 was offered, they will all have the same basic version of the 4.0 L inline 6. A few models were offered with a 4 cyl engine. There were a handful of changes to the I6 - there was a Renix version (which I've never owned and am not terribly familiar with), a High Output version, and then later in the run one that didn't have a distributor and wires in favor of a coil rail.

For the Grand Cherokee, there were a number of body styles - ZJ 94-98, WJ 99-04, WK 05-10, WKII 11-present. The Grand's used the same basic 4.0 L I6 as the Cherokee at least through the 04 model year. They also offered a 5.2 and a 5.9L V8. The styling of the Grands changed significantly from model to model. The WK and the WKII also offered a 5.7 Hemi and a 3.0 L diesel. I think there was a 4.7 and maybe a 3.7 offered in there somewhere also.