PDA

View Full Version : Using LED headlights with stock fogs


N8N_99xj
July 25th, 2017, 17:14
do I need to add a relay behind the driver's side headlight to switch the fog relay ground to ground when the high beam is off like you do with a relay harness, or will it work OK without doing that?

Just trying to plan my moves, got a used pair of Truck-Lites in the mail today, and want to know what I'm going to have to do to make a clean install. Going to be so much better than crappy misaimed sealed beams...

bigdaddyjlove
July 25th, 2017, 17:58
I'm running the truck-lites. they are fantastic.

plug and play, my fogs work just like stock

N8N_99xj
July 25th, 2017, 18:23
awesome. You mean there's something I can do that requires literally one screwdriver? I'm so down with that!

comanche91
July 25th, 2017, 18:53
I've been running Truck-lites for a couple of years now, and I love them. They replaced a pair of Hella halogen e-codes headlamps that required a relay harness because of their hellacious amp draw. I left the harness intact when I swapped in the Truck-lites and they put out more light than the Hellas at about 1/10 the amperage. Pure PnP install.

http://i.imgur.com/FWsmAUQ.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/Cf5K2uI.jpg