• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Suspension Advice

Rwalk1987

NAXJA Forum User
So here's the situation. This my first rock crawler build but I was a mechanic while.going t school. I am heading to Moab in about 6 weeks. Been working on it for almost a year and it feels like a death trap to me and I am looking for some advice. Here are the details.

2000 Jeep XJ
6.5 inch Long arm from Iron Rock Off-road
1 ton over the knuckle tie rods
Rubicon express track bar JKS sway bar links
Full frame reinforcement from Hooligan
Adjustable rear shackles

It feels like something is loose and I have gone over everything on it. I just had the alignment done this weekend and I only have 2 degrees of caster. I believe this is my problem. The caster adjusted on the lift is maxed out. After looking at a few things online I have come up with a couple things and was hoping for some input.

1. Cut the lower control arm mounts from the axle and relocate. ( Might not be possible based on the lift type. Needs further research.)

2. Cut upper link on control arm and replace with an adjustable heim joint or something similar.

3. Install caster bolts on lower control arms. (Will help but I don't think I am going to get 6 degrees of caster out of it.)

4. Hope somebody here has a better idea.

5. The control arms are adjustable. Will extending it and pushing the axle further out help. I wasn't sure since the upper arm is connected to it.

Thanks in advaced

When you did the over the knuckle steering did you move the track bar to above the axle?