• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Rusty rocker panels - cheap fix? Feedback please

LID_JS

NAXJA Forum User
Let me begin this thread with I have no experience in welding, nor have any buddies who know how to weld. I am full-time college and part-time salary and can't afford to bring it to a shop to repair my rocker panels. Currently the passenger side is surface rust from what I can tell, just bubbling paint. The driver side is starting to rot out, but only on half the panel.

JxPjOTz.jpg

I recently ordered a kit that is basically a slip on metal cover for the rockers.. It bolts to the original rocker with self-tapping screws.
wAAhgwP.jpg

It is 27 gauge metal. I do not do any hardcore offroading by any means. I camp a lot and go on mild trails. I have done many searches on this topic and I don't need 2x6 at the moment. It is my DD with only 110K miles.

I plan on cutting out more of the driver side and wirebrushing any rust that is inside and than sealing it up with rust reformer and spray the whole panel with undercoating. Then bolt on the "slip on" covers and then paint that as well. I just need opinions from the experts. I know it is more of a band-aid that will only delay for so much longer. I figure it is way better than expanding foam and bondo however. What do you guys think of this as a temporary fix? I am hoping for a couple more years given I treat the rust right. The inner rocker isn't rusted through, the bottom of the outer panel is rock solid. Just the middle area from what I can tell. I do know the rockers are considered structural but that shouldn't be a problem because i'm only cutting out about a foot long chunk in the middle?

Last edited: