• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

ARB bumper, which winch

djmones

NAXJA Forum User
Newbie here
Now since that's out of the way. I looked up 10 pages and a boolean search and didn't see one mentioned so here we go.

ARB brushguard winch bumper, between the choice of RuggedRidge Synthetic and Smittybilt (the only ones available here for a decent price).

1. Is anyone running one of those
2. Any particular install issues such as does it fit, any custom fab work, etc

I just don't want to purchase the wrong one and have it not fit.

P.S. Please no Warn responses as I can't afford one, thanks, the aforementioned brands are the only ones available in our area that we have warranty repair shops for.
:geek:

Micheal from Ireland

Welcome. Good luck with your upgrade.

I'm no specific help, as I have a Warn M8000, but I don't see why any standard winch with a remote solenoid box wouldn't work.

Note that you do have to clock the case on the Warn to reach the engage/free spool lever, so I would make sure you can do that with the Smittybilt/RuggedRidge.

First of all: Welcome.

Secondly, ARB and Warn are pretty buddy-buddy and the ARB bars tend to be designed around Warn winches.

That being said, you should be able to find the dimensions for the Warn M-series winch online. Just check to make sure that the mounting hole locations and the overall dimensions are the same. They *should* be fairly close but it does not hurt to check.

A couple of things to note: most winches mount with the feet down; the ARB bullbar for the XJ requires the winch to be mounted with the feet FORWARD. ie. the winch is essentially laying on what would normally be its backside. This is why the clutch housing needs to be clocked (as previous posters have indicated).