• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Hard Shifting in 4 Wheel Low

MarkCrx

NAXJA Forum User
Hey Guys, so i'm new to the Jeep world let me know if i'm missing anything

96XJ
AW4

The jeep shifting fine in Drive and on street but when in 4wheel low it clunks real hard when shifting.

Planning on doing a full tune up and replace all fluids...hoping this will help!

Any idea's?

That's pretty typical in 4LO. Torque multiplication of 2.72:1 low range amplifies the shift shock; AW4 transmissions shift hard.

For the transmission fluid I'd install a big auxiliary transmission cooler and use Dex/Merc III transmission fluid.

Good info. Thats kind of what i was figuring but wasn't sure!

I'll replace the fluid and see if that help. Transmission cooler ordered!

Here's how the factory suggests you shift the transfer case and I've been doing this since these things were new and I worked at the dealership. Quoted from the owner's manual. The suggestions in CAPS are mine.

"To engage, shift the transfer case lever from 2H to 4H while the vehicle is moving at any legal speed". I LET OFF THE GAS, THROW THE LEVER, TAP THE GAS AND LET OFF.

4L position: " To engage, slow the vehicle to 2-3 MPH , shift the transmission to Neutral, then shift the transfer lever to the right and pull firmly rearward to 4L".

TO SHIFT OUT OF 4L, SHIFT THE TRANSMISSION INTO NEUTRAL WITH THE VEHICLE STOPPED, SHIFT THE TRANSFER CASE LEVER TO 2H, THEN THE TRANS TO D IF YOU HAVE AN AUTOMATIC, OR INTO FIRST GEAR WITH A MANUAL, AND CONTINUE ON.

Revised 11/20/2014