• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

No Start, only sparks on cylinders 1 & 4 HELP PLEASE!

Dolby Gray

NAXJA Forum User
I'm ready to pull my hair out and need some help. I've been a professional mechanic for 30 years, but I'm having issues diagnosing my own jeep. I have a 91 Jeep Cherokee 4.0L 5 speed 4x4. I just rebuilt engine and installed it with new injectors, ignition coil, cap, rotor, plugs, wires, crank sensor, battery, and battery cables. I have verified the distributor is indexed with cylinder #1 on compression. I've got 40 pounds of fuel pressure. The engine wants to start but then just spins over. I've tried 2 different engine computers, 2 different cam sensors, 3 different crank sensors and 3 different ignition coils, but it still won't start and run. I've checked for spark and it consistently on sparks on cylinders 1 & 4 but not on any other. The only other thing I've noticed is that the ASD relay is cycling on and off while cranking. Any thoughts or ideas would be greatly appreciated. Sorry for the long post just trying to include all relevant information.

Tested each plug and wire on the #1 distributor cap terminal all are fine, but still only have spark at cylinders 1&4.

The problem is that I only get a spark only cylinders 1 & 4. I tested all the wires and plugs on the number 1 post of the distributor cap to verify they were all functioning.

I have also checked the wiring from the computer to fuel injectors, crank sensor, coil and cam sensor for continuity and all read no resistance and have no corrosion at the terminals.

I am still unsure why the ASD RELAY is cycling on and off while cranking. I have also exchanged it with a known working unit, which had no effect.

Last edited:
Did you use your old flex plate (tone ring) or did the engine come with one?