• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

What to do with my rear axle?

Marcelo73

NAXJA Forum User
The scenario:
D30/35 AX15, 3.07 R&P
I've been wheeling for 3 years with almost stock XJ, just 31x10.5 MT tires.
All the time mud and sand, no rocks.
This year I installed a 5.5 lift kit and 32x11.5 MT tires and a locker in the D30.

The facts:
the tires have less than 6 months. Unless someone give me 33 or 35 for free, I will not swap to bigger tires in the future.
The engine runs good, but there's a diference between the 235 originals and the current ones. Regear is in my plans.
My mileage is 12MPG - 19MPG. Not a big concern, is my DD but I drive few km per week.
I have read a lot since I bought the rig, about how weak is a D35 and never wanted to spend money on it. I even bought the diff cover and swap kit from Ruffstuff for an 8.8.

The problem:
An 8.8 axle is almost impossible to get in YJ. The price is asked for one rebuilt is $2.5k (I don't live in USA).
I tried to configure one from ECGS and the price put here is also expensive (have to pay 75% of taxes to custom).

The question:
a D35 with chrome shaft axles is able to handle 4.56 with 32 tires or I keep the current configuration and save that money for an 8.8 axle?

Are any of the other XJ axles available locally? chrysler 8.25, dana 44?

There are not lot of XJ around here. Most are running and has D35. I just saw once with a C8.25 and is in a 'poser' rig.

The dana 44 are from pickups made in Brazil. Require change of all bearings, R&P and None of them are less than 1K.

Some folks do successfully run the "super 35 kit" which consists of the chromoly axle shafts you are talking about.

Being that 8.8s are plentiful here, and go for around $250, its a much better cantidate.