• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

XJ Steering Upgrade

SeanSS

NAXJA Forum User
Im wanting to upgrade the steering on my XJ.

Im currently right around 7 inches of lift.
Ive got a LKS adjustable track bar.

The steering is completely stock.
Was wanting to do a OTK setup but am not currently wanting to dig into changing the TB mount on the axle side.

Right now...I have 2 options in mind unless someone comes up with something else for me.

http://www.jcroffroad.com/product/STR/1TS-UTK.html

Or swapping to a steering setup from a V8 ZJ.

Anyone got some input for me?
Im relatively new to this stuff, this jeep is alot "more" then my last one..

Thank you for the help
-Sean

Don't do JCR or any inverted T setup for that matter.

If you're really at 7" of lift.. Which seems unnecessary for even 37s. You're going to want to go OTK and OTA track bar. A WJ conversion with either crossover heims or tie rods is the absolute best. Somewhat expensive but you also get massive front brakes.

If you're dead set on running it on the stock axle side mount then go CURRIE! Great setup and lasts a long long time.

These recommendations come from experience. I too was at about 7" lift on 33s with stock style steering. Now I am at roughly 5" on 35's. I had just a v8 ZJ tie rod. Then I went Ruffstuff OTK inverted T tie rods. Same as JCR offers But I also went and did the OTA track bar from them. I had tie rod roll and bandaided it with JCR's poly spacer. After fukin with it for long enough I finally went for the WJ swap. And hands down best thing you can do to a Dana 30. Big brakes, better steering.