• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

New member, new jeep, and new issues!

NikkiCO

NAXJA Forum User
Hallo everyone. I didn't see a new member area so I figured I'd post here. My name is Nikki and I just stepped into this world of XJs. I've been working with imports and tarmac-related vehicles for a long time but I'm totally new to Jeeps and 4x4 stuff so I'm a bit of a noob here. Currently I'm in Georgia but will be moving to Colorado in the next two weeks, so clearly I needed to get a viable 4wd! Hence the 2000 XJ sport.

So, here's my issue, one of many. I'm hearing a gurgling/dripping coming from the oil pan area after I shut the vehicle down. Since I don't know what is normal for the vehicles, is this something I should be worried about? I'm still getting used to this thing and its quirks so I apologize if this is a regular thing. If someone could point me to a "total beginner's dumb questions" thread that'd be great!

Thanks,
Nikki

WELCOME! Noobs are definitely welcome...

The gurgling is normal. Don't worry about it. The 4.0 is basically a tractor motor. Change the oil regularly and stay out of the red-line and they will go hundreds of thousands of miles.

Another thing you might notice is a ticking noise while the engine is running. It sounds a bit like a lifter tick. This is also normal as long as its coming from the purge valve that is mounted to the passenger side firewall. Put your hand on it while it's running and you'll feel it ticking. Looks like this:
images

Last edited:
Yes, it is.

There is far less wailing and gnashing of teeth.