• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Converting from 242 to 231 transfercase

Brian82

NAXJA Forum User
I just got myself into another cherokee :/ But this one has a 242 x-fer case. i have no experience with these. It won't go into 4-Low. not sure why.. I do have a spare 231 floating around. Can i swap them easily? use stock rear drive shaft with 231 from 242? Input shaft depths the same, ect ect?... spline counts?

Have you tested the T-Case engagement by shifting the Range Lever by hand from underneath ? Have you adjusted the 4x4 shift mechanism ?

What year XJ, and what year donor ? You need to consider spline count, and speedometer output type.

standard.jpg

Last edited:
Have you tested the T-Case engagement by shifting the Range Lever by hand from underneath ? Have you adjusted the 4x4 shift mechanism ?

What year XJ, and what year donor ? You need to consider spline count, and speedometer output type.

standard.jpg

Thanks for the diagram. i Have not tried to adjust the shift linkage yet. I wasn't sure it the low range was a common problem or what not. Currently i have a 99. I have a 231 out of a 98, and 01. plus a dana 300. But if i can get the 242 into low/ ill leave it for now.

Any idea if driveshaft lengths and splines are the same ?

It won't go into 4-Low. not sure why..

The transmission has to be in neutral to shift into 4-low on a 242. I'm not sure if that's true for a 231 because I've never owned one. But I'm throwing it out there just in case that is particular to a 242 and you are not aware of it.