• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

1996 XJ, should I buy?

JeepNoob

NAXJA Forum User
Hey guys, I'm sorry if this seems a little rash or too upfront, but here's the deal- I've been looking around for a new daily driver, preferably some sort of small SUV with 4x4 and a manual transmission. I don't need anything crazy, just something to get me to school and back and maybe out into the boonies on the weekends. Being that I'm a full-time college student, money is almost always tight, and I prefer to buy vehicles outright. My search recently led me to a 1996 XJ 4-door 4x4 with the 4.0 and the 5-speed and WOW. Does it need some TLC... Now I know how to work on vehicles and such, but this thing set off a lot of alarm bells for me, unfortunately as my user nsme suggests, I'm a little new to the whole Jeep world and their issues, so I was hoping to get your guys' opinion on this stuff-

296,000-something miles: This is what the odometer read, and for me is the biggest issue. Now I know these 4.0's are pretty durable, but that's still a lot of miles. Weird thing is, the engine didn't seem like it had THAT MANY miles. Once we were able to start it (dead battery) it ran fine, no disturbing noises, no puffs of smoke out of the dipstick tube, oil pressure was 40 PSI at idle, 60 going down the road (according to the in-dash gauge anyhow, gauge also seemed like it didn't want to go all the way down to zero when the engine was shut off), a bit of smoke and water droplets out of the tailpipe, but I chalked that up to it being cold and the truck having sat for awhile, no CEL illimunated. To make matters worse, I've no idea if the engine, transmission, T-case, etc had been rebuilt or replaced at some point, or if the gauge cluster had been replaced.