• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Newbie Fuel Injector change

Lanthanaas

NAXJA Forum User
Hey I'm very new to engines and I'm learning as I go. I've got a friend who has an 87 Jeep Cherokee that has been sitting for about 5 months. Their apartment was paving this week so it had to be moved. I tried to jump it with me truck, but as soon as it started cranking, gasoline started to seep out from the top end of 2 of the fuel injectors. We were able to pull 6 from a junkyard and all the O-rings are in good condition. That's where I think the failure was, although we have yet to pull his out. I've watched a few videos on Youtube as prep work, but I'm still a novice with most of the engine systems.

My questions are 1) should I do anything before, during, or after installing the injectors to make sure that the injection system performs correctly? 2) What sort of cleaning solution/process should I use on the injectors prior to installation? They are pretty much covered in dirty oil.

I just soaked the O-rings in fuel for 10 minutes and smeared a little Vaseline on them, get them all lined up on the fuel rail and the block, .they pop right in.

Unfortunately, we're working on a very limited budget, so I don't think upgrading will be an option. I'll keep that in mind for my 89, though. :)

Too much for his budget, yes. So far I've ended up buying everything for the project. We installed the "new" injectors yesterday. One of the o-rings tore while trying to get it into the fuel rail. We didn't realize it until we tried to crank it and it started leaking. New o-ring to be installed next weekend because it was getting late and the wives wanted to "see us" or something. :p