• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Engine ground Ohm's while running

markaboo929

NAXJA Forum User
OK I am chasing a rough idle,rich running issue.I can see my O2 Sensor reading on my snap on mt2500.It shows rich while driving around .75 or so and does not switch until at idle or low throttle.It bucks/surges while slight throttle as well.I have changed every sensor with test ones including the ecm...no change.Also swapped in a different set of injectors,same thing.I did an Ohms test on the grounds and came up with around 2.0 or less on the grounding points on the engine.The one on the dipstick bolt is 0.00.I did measure it while running and it was around 20.0 ohms.I am really at a brick wall with this issue.I have been a master ASE Tech for 28 years now and can't think of anything else that could be the cause.I even disconnected the Alt due to it has the green/orange wire that feeds the injectors,coil,O2 heaters.Replaced fuel pump and regulator as well.Strange thing is it happened after I had a front end collision...yes I checked the wiring to make sure it did not short anything,it was only the header panel/front light harness.Any ideas?

#1 You can not use an Ohm meter to measure resistance in an ACTIVE circuit.

Resistance is a static measurment, and the Ohm meter measures the voltage drop across the resistance by supplying a voltage and reading the drop.
Because the circuit you are reading is active, and there is a voltage drop on the wire, your reading when running is meaningless.

I would start with the ISAC motor.