• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Which brand brake pads and rotors?

bradleyheathhays

NAXJA Forum User
Bout to replace the front pads on the old '96 XJ and was wondering what brand pads to go for. Recently switched up to getting stuff from NAPA instead of the local O'Reiley's b/c of the quality factor. Would just whatever OEM brake pads NAPA carries be alright?

Also, the rotors are gonna have to be shaved (deeply gouged, didn't know it) and will reuse if I can. But if they turn out to be too worn a brand suggestion for replacing them would come in handy as well.

Thanks

I work as a sales rep for Napa so I'm going to give you a quick sales pitch.

Do yourself a favor and try the Adaptive one brake pads. I used them on everything before I even worked for Napa. I have tried plenty of other options when I was a service manager and Napa brakes always worked well for me. I have the Adaptives on my XJ and my ladies' 09 Civic and they are phenomenal. They are a hybrid ceramic (different inner and outer pad) and have tested better than any other OE style brake pad on the market. They also will leave no dust on your wheels and last forever. When I was a service manager I used them as a "problem solver" pad if I had a constant brake noise problem from a customer. As a sales rep, I have had 0 warranty issues with them. That says a lot. Limited Lifetime Warranty.