• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Drop Pitman arm?

wilhite78

NAXJA Forum User
NAXJA Member
Worked on the Jeep - 98 XJ w/ 4.0 - this weekend, installed front frame stiffeners and front lift, stopped short of hooking up track bar on the frame side. My buddy is advising me to get a drop pitman arm and it seems to me I would need one. The lift is the DPG Hybrid 5" lift, basically a Rubicon Express 5.5 lift with different springs. I would appreciate advice on whether or not I should get a drop pitman arm. I have done a search and seen different opinions, I'm still learning about lift geometry and steering, etc..
Thanks.

XJ Cherokee do not need a drop pitman arm until you exceed 6-8" of lift.

Thanks for the replies. One yes, one no, seems consistent with what I've found so far :jester:
Can anyone offer some explanation? I'm really just trying to learn here as well as trying to make a good decision.

Track bar and drag link need to be the same angle or bumpsteer will not be your friend. Lift it and put the track bar on. If the angles are not the same (joint to joint, not angle of the bar itself), fix it. Maybe drop pitman, maybe something else.

As stated the angles of the track and drag need to match or you will end up with bump steer to some degree. 4" is not a bad height to run a drop pit. It will make the jeep give better steering feed back and be more response of due to the decreased angle of the drag link. And it will help cut back or stop you from maxing out the tie-rod ends under full droop of the pass side.

What Solar said.