• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

CB radio turns on my fuel pump??

goodluckchuck

NAXJA Forum User
Hey guys new to the forum, I am a 6 year vet of the offroading world but just bought my first xj last week. My jeep is a 96 4.0. The guy that had it before me had a cb wired into it already and didn't want to remove it for the sale, day 1 it worked fine no issues. He had a tiny antenna on the roof rack. I put a 102" whip (let me explain) on it which is mounted to a mount on the pass side rear fender and tied up to the roof rack so it isn't sticking up in the air and swinging everywhere. The wire, antenna base, antenna, and spring are all isolated. When I installed the antenna I had to try it out which cause this peculiar issue. With the ignition on only and I key the mic it doesn't do anything until I start talking, when I talk into it it makes my fuel pump run. Now with the jeep running it will make the engine spit and sputter and throws a P0340 code which is camshaft position sensor. As long as I am not using the cb the jeep runs fine. I figured maybe he had something wired wrong, so I wired the cb DIRECTLY to the batter, positive wire to positive post, negative wire to negative post, still does the same exact thing. That is what confuses me. The cb is a cheapy cobra 19 DX IV from walmart. Any input is appreciated and appologize in advance for the brief introduction, thanks guys!

Welcome.
Do a quick search. I recall somebody else here with the exact same issue.
I have no suggestions, but please keep us updated on this.!

I did a search just couldn't find any helpful information. I have heard that on a rare occasion something with the frequency in the cb can interfere with the vehicle's computer, just looking for some advice before I run out and buy another cb.