• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Tent-Goers and Harlan

highspeed

NAXJA Forum User
I haven't seen too many folks talking about roughing it in a tent. My plan is to have my wife and my oldest daughter in a tent with me. That being said, I am a 13 year war vet in the Army (still in) and I have no problem sleeping in weird places with much less creature comforts than I have now. My wife is hardcore and once slept in a tent, in AZ, in Summer, at 8 month prego, on the ground. She is fine with that scenario for two nights.....she says. My daughter.......ehhh.....not so much but I can throw her in the XJ if needed.

I love to rough it when possible. Cooking on camp fires, slapping hummingbird size mosquitoes off my neck, smelling like a forest fire for 3 days, etc. I know there is a shower/potty complex available, but is it within decent distance to the tent camping area? This is more for my wife and daughter than anything.

I want this to be a great 1st Harlan experience for all of us, so I would like to include as many creature comforts as possible while still keeping the camping feeling. My tent sleeps 6 so it should be big enough for us.

Any advice from some other tent-going Crawlers?

The bath house is right in the middle of the tent area. Not more than a couple hundred feet from most any tent site.

If you and your family are light sleepers you may want to camp in the upper campground as most of the shenanigans happen in the main open field/campground. The upper ground is about a five minute walk to the bath house.

I'm looking forward to meeting all the new folks from other chapters!

Last edited:
The bath house is right in the middle of the tent area. Not more than a couple hundred feet from most any tent site.