• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

BDS Long Arm Question

Spokes

NAXJA Forum User
Whats up guys. I just got my BDS longs arms in. :loveu: BUT Im having issues with getting the bolts in for the cross member. The nuts inside my frame rails are to rusted for the bolts to catch. So, Im going to drop the cross member again and try a tap on the rusty nuts, hopefully that does the trick. BUT if it doesnt i was wondering if anyone has simple just drilled out the nuts and used through bolts? Fishing the bolts and washers through would be easy enough. Im no engineer but i think that would be the same strength right? I just wanna make sure there is nothing im over looking before I go ahead and do it. Im no noob for jeeps or anything just like to know best possibilities and other ideas from others lol

Also does anyone have an idea on arm lengths for 4.5" of lift?

And to keep it interesting some pics of the install so far. I can post more pics as the install goes along further if you would like.

This guys only took and hour each to get out... pain in the ass haha lots of heat and PB.

Jeep should ride and flex incredible once they are installed. The arm angle is gonna be pretty level :)

Last edited:
Those should be metric. If the threads are really bad, I've had success going with a next size larger SAE coarse tap. Don't remember what size. 3/8? Does that crossmember have another angle bracket that bolts to the side of the rail?

Those should be metric. If the threads are really bad, I've had success going with a next size larger SAE coarse tap. Don't remember what size. 3/8? Does that crossmember have another angle bracket that bolts to the side of the rail?

Yes there are side brackets also. The stock size is 10x1.5. That is what I'm going to try and tap first.