• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

bell housing

xjhoyle

NAXJA Forum User
I've recently purchased a 1995 xj se. Has around 200k, auto trans 4x4 and no power accessories. I noticed a wet spot under my trans at work today and upon further inspection it looks like my bellhousing is cracked, I'm not 100% because it was dark but pretty sure. Can I replace the housing itself for cheap if it is cracked? I'm mechanically inclined but not a mechanic by trade. I have lots of tools, space and some time to do it so if I can save money by doing it myself I will. Any insight would be great.

Just my opinion, but unless the crack is very large or near a bolt hole I'd ignore it. What you are likely seeing is a typical Jeep oil leak. First step is to get a finger full and decide if it is engine oil or tranny oil. And then keep an eye on it to see how much it actually drips on the ground. A little oil can look like a lot, but may just be seepage. Seepage is usually defined as a wet spot that doesn't drip much if it all. Check your engine oil and tranny oil frequently and see if you are in fact loosing any significant amount. I always check all my fluids on a new to me Jeep, no telling when the last time anybody actually physically checked the transfer or differential oils.

Oil filter adaptor, rear valve cover, front and rear main bearing seals are all spots to check. Transmission cooler lines are a common place for leaks, rear transfer output is also a common spot for leaks.

The bell housing isn't sealed, it is just a cover for the flex plate and torque converter or the flywheel and clutch. It does mate up the tranny to the engine, but really isn't prone to significant damage.