• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

CB ant mounting options

hoosier92xj

NAXJA Forum User
So I am new to jeeps. I picked up a 92 xj in trade (in a round about way) for my 92 runner that I built into (my idea) the perfect rig. Anyways I now have my first Jeep. One thing I find important is having a cb for communication. Now mounting my ant to keep it as safe as possible. I run an oil cooled whip that is fairly strong but I cant afford to break it. Where have the gods of the XJs on this site found to mount an ant? I have been looking around to try to figure it out. I have seen a few mounted on the side in the back but I drug my yota down large rocks many times so I don't think that will work but any ideas would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance.

Last edited:
I think what i am going to do is since the whip is the only part that needs to be above the vechile i am going to build a mount that attaches on the inside of the hatch and wraps around the edge placing the ant behind the xj until i build my rear tire carrier and then i will attach it to that

Welcome over to NAXJA, hoosier. For the terrain we wheel in here in Utah, I've found a whip mount on the center of the roof provides the best performance and also protection from trail obstacles. I run a 60" base-loaded Wilson 1000, mounted directly above the front dome light. This location also provided the most favorable ground plane for reception.

http://www.wearecb.com/how-to-install-a-cb-antenna.html

The only challenge with this mounting location is garage door clearance. The Wilson handles this by providing a threaded cap for the base mount, so I can unscrew the antenna and remove it for clearance when not in use and cap the threaded connection to keep the weather out.