• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Regearing 8.25 Pattern Advice and Help

Qban

NAXJA Forum User
This is my first time regearing solo and was hoping to get some help on the pattern. This is on a 8.25 with 4.56. I'm setting backlash with a dial indicator according the FSM process of torquing and everything I'm arriving at .005-.006 consistently with that process so I'm happy about that.

This is initial using the old pinion depth shim. The pattern on the drive side looked too high (crown) and I thought it should be a little closer to the toe.

8ri0.jpg

So I added 0.010 to the original shim but that still didn't allow me to see any yellow between the crown and the contact pattern. So I then used 0.025 + original shim which looked like too much.

These next pictures are drive and coast of 0.019 + original shim.

cva4.jpg

o8j4.jpg

I also have pictures of the 0.025 and 0.010 setups if that would help. I just didn't want to flood the thread with too many. Right now I'm using my old bearings on the pinion which got grinded for setup bearings.

Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks!

So I'm reading a little more and looking at the pics with a fresh set of eyes today. My thoughts are that the last 2 pics with the 0.019 shim is in the right direction but that I need to increase the backlash a hair, right now I'm at 0.005-0.006 BL. I'm thinking of increasing BL by 0.002 and checking the pattern again. Depending on how that looks, I can also subtract the Pinion depth by 0.002, taking me from original shim + 0.019 to original shim + 0.017.

Let me know if you guys think I'm on the right track. Thanks