• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Should my XJ have a 249 transfer case??

Andy98xj

NAXJA Forum User
So I'm new to the jeep world and have a 98 XJ sport that had the upcountry package. I have installed a 3" lift and have been tracking down various issues and have now gotten to the point of drive line vibrations. So in looking at my transfer case to try to figure out what I want to do I look at the tag and it has 249 on there. Now I'm a bit confused because in all my reading I see 231 and 242, and I'm expecting that it is a 242 because i have the full time 4wd option. So has this been swapped out, or did it come from the factory with a 249? What is a 249 and how is it different from a 242?

Thanks

Ok so the more I search I see that there is no way this is a 249 I will get back under and look at the tag a little closer.. I could swear the damn thing said 249.

Theres always a chance that it is in fact a 249 swapped in from a ZJ if thats what was available when the stock one needed replaced. After fixing tons of crappy craftsmanship thanks to the previous owners of mine, I'm realizing that tons of stuff has been swapped in from the newer body style and hardly anything in the interior fits right.