• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Installing RO 4.5 Leafs

S12384j

NAXJA Forum User
Ive been piecing together some lift parts for a few weeks now, found some parts on craigslist, some ordered off the internet and some I fabricated myself (im a cnc laser operator at a metal shop) I was a tech at a chrysler/dodge/jeep dealer for 4 yeara until the owner sold the dealer, anyways ive been slowly installing the parts when I find time, tonight I made my way to the rear springs and the springs that I got seem to be too short, with the front mount bolt in the rear mount comes up about 2 or so inches short of the upper shackle mount hole, has anyone ran into this with either the springs or a lift? I have done plenty of suspension r+r but not any lifts, the leafs that i have installed all went in without any problems. I cant imagine that you would need to put a load on the springs to get them to line up.... theae are one of the parts i found off craigslist, there new springs and have Rop-45xj painted on them as a part number... any ideas?

The arc of the spring shortens the distance between the ends of the spring. The more lift required by the spring, the more arc it has.The common fix for this is shackle relocation. Hd offroad and a few others have just released no lift relocation kits to acomadate this. They also have a version that adds one inch of lift. They relocate the upper shackle location. Moving it forward or backward to match the springs you chose. More than likely when you put weight on the spring you will end up with a vertical shackle angle if not addressed and it will ride very harsh and greatly hinder flex in the rear. Your ideal shackle angle is 45* acute to the spring at ride height with the weight of the vehicle on all tires.