• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Hub assembly

airman401

NAXJA Forum User
Pardon my ignorance, I'm new to xj and jeeps in general.

My front passanger side wheel is ticking with each rotation. I was going to replace the bearing but saw that I can do a new hub assemble for around 32$ on rockauto.

Can some link me to the part I need please?

91 Cherokee Laredo
4x4
Dana front

Thank you in advance!

quick/free/easy diagnosis...

safely jack the front end off the ground.
make sure the rotor isnt in contact with the dust shield if you still have them
grab the tire at 3 and 9, shake it: if there is play, inspect your unit bearing and TREs
grab the tire at 6 and 12, shake it: if there is play, inspect your ball joints

is the "ticking" speed dependent? it could also be the Ujoint... mine clicked as it rotated.

Did you actually diagnose it?
Many things cause noise on rotation.
Bearings usually growl.

My experience also. Usually when I get a tick every full rotation with the tire on the ground, it is a stone stuck in the tire tread if I'm lucky. If I'm unlucky it is a screw stuck in my tire.

The way I check the hubs when I'm suspicious is to jack up one side of the front differential, remove the tire, put two lug nuts on backwards to hold the disk solidly in place, pry the pads away from the disc (carefully so as not to damage them) and try to rock the disc back and forth. Rotate the disc (axle) a few times, you can often feel the growl rather than hear it, the bearings get raw. Push and pull on the disc a few times. If there is any play there you will feel it.

Usually any the time my hubs are ready for replacement they are pretty far gone, the slop and play isn't subtle.