• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Part Time Light

Tinse4

NAXJA Forum User
Ok so I am new to the Xj. I sold my Yj and went bigger due to a new baby. So I bought a 90 XJ 4.0 automatic. one of many issues is the Part Time light is always on. I know for a fact it is not engaged because i just got the 4wheel drive to work. Had a vacuum issue. I am famillier with the I6 and transfer-case, but not the AW4 or all the lights and whistles. Any idea why the light would stay on? Thanks

there is a switch on the passenger side of the t-case, it is often mis-categorized in parts store catalogs as a neutral safety switch but its only purpose is to tell the PCM what gear the tcase is in. if it is not connected or malfunctioning it could cause your problem.

it looks like this:

275041.jpg

488131.jpg

hope this helps. NAPA part number for that switch is #FWD21 and that should be the one that fits your 1990 XJ. earlier ones were vacuum operated and had 4 vacuum lines going to them instead of a connector with 2 wires.

Thanks for the response. I was working on my t-case today. It does have four vacuum lines that go into the back side of the t-case. It wasn't engaging the front axels due to a vacuum issue. We got that to work, but still have the light. I am wondering if the previous owner did a swap with an older unit. The tag is gone so I can't get any info. I know he had a donor. I got an extra transmission with it also. So maybe it's a communication or lack there off causing it. Will look for another sensor tomorrow when I change the trans guild and filter.