• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

1996 XJ temp readings at thermo housing

Ham1996

NAXJA Forum User
Hello everyone it's my first time on the forum so I hope I posted on the correct section. So I've been dealing with this issue, and maybe one of you can help me out. I've replaced most if not all my cooling system except for the water pump. I've upgraded to dual electric fans and am getting odd readings at my temp gauge. More specifically I'm overheating according to my temp gauge. I don't feel like I'm overheating. I've gone all the way into the red area with no smoking, no misfire, no boil over, no nothing. I purchased an IR gun and took readings at the thermostat housing. When my gauge reads 210 my housing reads 170. When my gauge reads 235ish my housing reads 204 max temp I was able to get was 210 at the housing. I've tried getting a reading at the temp switch, but it's nearly impossible to get an accurate reading there plus the brass fitting throws the IR gun off a lot from what I've researched online. I know I can go out and buy a gauge or aftermarket temp gauge, but has anyone had similar numbers with the IR gun? Or maybe someone can give me a baseline? I've also taken temps of the upper and lower hoses when gauge reads 235ish and both hoses temps are less than 170. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

You'll probably get a better reading on the radiator side tank near the inlet. And with the airbox out, on the end tank near the outlet. Black seems to be a better color for good IR thermometer readings. I don't know what to tell you about your hoses, It never crossed my mind to try a temp reading there..

Electromagnetic fields can mess with your thermometer, best results would be with the engine off and no rotating parts.