• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

MIDAS blew up my Jeep ...

FlyNNN

NAXJA Forum User
... and I am pissed!! I have a 1990 RENIX that I have been keeping very good care of for the last 20 years. I had been noticing lately an exhaust leak at the muffler and my tailpipe was starting to fall apart. I had some time and money and thought one afternoon to drop it off at a closely located MIDAS to replace the muffler and tail pipe.

4 hrs. later when I come to pick up the vehicle, I was told by a mechanic that it overheated. I was shocked as the vehicle was working flawlessly prior to arrival. I paid the $417 bill for the muffler job and left.

During the next two weeks, I'm noticing the temperature gauge slowly start to creep right of centre. Yellow alert. I "burp" the system using the recommended procedure of tail up, removal of the coolant sensor at the back of the head and top up the coolant. I have a MAC coolant bottle on this as well which I had installed last June when I had another shop put in a new rad, thermostat, water pump, hoses and harmonic balancer. The system was running solid until I left MIDAS that fateful day.

I return my vehicle to the shop that did the work last June to see if it is some kind of warranty issue. Temperature gauge now getting close to the red zone on the gauge. Diagnosis performed and I am told exhaust gases are being detected in the coolant bottle. $200 bill for that diagnostic check. No warranty claim available, only an estimate to repair a blown head gasket for $3800.