• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

95 Intermittent start up. No check engine light in "on". Code 12? HELP!!?

tg22ar

NAXJA Forum User
I have a 95 4.0. It runs and drives great, once it starts. When I did the check engine light key test it threw me a code 12 then 55. When I turn the key to fire it up, sometimes the check engine light will not come on. If key is left in the on position, sometimes the check engine light will come on, I hear power come and the fuel pump primes, then fires up perfect. Other times I dont hear a thing, no fuel pump prime, no check engine light with key in on position and it wont start if I try then. Everytime I turn it on, all of my radio presets are gone, clock reads 12:00 like I disconnected the battery but havent. I am a noob when I comes to electronics and wiring. Any help is greatly appreciated. Id rather not bring it to my mechanic and use the $ for upgrades. LOL.

Re: 95 Intermittent start up. No check engine light in "on". Code 12? HELP!!?

12 is start code, 55 is end code. both normal.

sounds like a faulty/intermittent ignition switch to me

It sounds like the IOD fuse may be blown and possibly a bad ignition switch as Digger said.

The code 12 is normal if the battery has been disconnected in the last 50 ignition cycles. Code 55 means end of codes. So basically, the clock reading 12 and the code 12 (without having disconnected the battery in the last 50 cycles) indicate that somehow, you aren't getting power to the IOD (ignition-off draw) circuits, aka the radio and ECU. It running funny/not starting up properly is a symptom of a bad ignition switch and/or IOD circuit not being powered - does it have trouble idling for a few minutes after you start it? That typically happens when the ECU has been left unpowered for a while.