• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

XJ rear setup on a budget.

SleeperzCreeperz

NAXJA Forum User
(*Noob alert* :flame:)

I'm looking for a few key bits for my drag sleeper project. I believe these are off-the-shelf parts that I have simply not churned up yet with the search function.

1.) Posi/locker rear. Suggestions?
2.) Shackle reverse. I see a few shackle relocators, but nothing for reversing the shackles. I think the hinge should be in the rear to prevent wrapping. Any thoughts?
3.) Slapper traction bars.

I intend to retain some level of street manners with it, so I'm not sure about a locker. (It won't be much of a sleeper to a trained eye, BTW.) Being a noob, I do not know how strong the stock 8in rear actually is. I'm looking at around 400ft/lbs or more. The engine and tuning will come later. For now, I am looking for chassis parts to shore up strength and reliability.

I'd add a set of frame stiffeners as well. I personally have used Ruffstuff and like them very much.

..."oops" on the shackle location. I meant to say move it to the front.

Considering the upgraded shackle location kits, what would be their advantage in a launch situation? I was under the impression that axle wrap causes the XJ's wheelhop. Is this not so, making it more of a matter of adjustments vs. any redesign?

rc-jeep-xj-shackle-relo-kit.jpg

A "beefier" rear would help, but I'm curious what would eliminate it's problems entirely. A coil spring rear (at stock height!) would seem expensive and self-defeating.

jeep-cj-7-traction-bar-1.jpg

Is there anything like this for XJs? I didn't think there was, so generic traction bars seemed like my only option.

Last edited: