• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Preparing for a D35 Break

spinaldex

NAXJA Forum User
I posted this over at JeepsUnlimited and heard crickets so I thought I would move it over to the pros and see if I get any hits.

I just picked up a '00 XJ and the previous owner put in a Yukon Super 35 kit w/ Ox locker and 4.88s in the rear. It sits on 35"s.

I'm not new to 4 wheel drives or Cherokee's, but I'm not an expert at how much a Dana 35 can handle. I drive light, no heavy throttling at all, especially over rocks. I wheel in the Pacific Northwest where its a few stump crawls, bunch of ruts, little rock.

I'm freaked out somewhat because I'm expecting to break it and be left stranded on the trail. Yes, the solution is to go to an 8.8 or a D44, but money's tight since I just bought this rig and so it will take awhile till I can dump another $2k in to a rear end. So ... what I need is advice on what I can carry to help myself through any bad situations if I get on the trail.

1. Are there any practices I can take on the trail to reduce the chance I'll break it?

2. With a Super 35 kit, since the axles are tough, isn't there a higher likelihood a C-ring snaps under pressure, or the R&P breaks off a few teeth now (especially with the smaller gears)?

3. To go along with #2 above, should I carry spare C-rings? Are they unique for the Super 35 axles, or do the super kits use standard size grooves in the axles so the stock C-clips still work?

4. If you are on the trail and the axle slides out, what do you do? I mean, I'd hate to invest in spare axle shafts & a spare carrier in the event everything goes to hell .. Better to save that money towards a new axle right? But, with a C-clip setup, the entire axle will fall out meaning I can't drive it off the trail. If I'm in a remote area, what do I do?