• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Differential Maintenance

wkandxj

NAXJA Forum User
Just looking at my differentials and comparing them to pics I see around here I've a D30 in front and a C8.25 in the rear. I'm sticking with these for now but I'm wanting to do some work and I've some questions.
I want to change the fluids just to ensure its fresh as I don't know when it was done last. My D30 is leaking from around the cover seal so when I change the fluid I'll fix that.
What fluid would you recommend for these? I've seen a multitude of responses to this question, but curious on brands and types. Can I use the same in both?
How many quarts should I buy to complete the job?
When I open these up how can I tell what my gearing is? What about splines? Probably simple but I've never worked on a diff before so I'd like to get a better idea of what I have.

Lastly, any tips? I plan on just taking the covers off, cleaning out the old fluid, putting the cover on with RTV and topping off the fluid. Seems easy enough, am I an idiot and missing something from what I've read?

Order lube locker gaskets. You can thank me next time you have to change the fluid.
5qts of 75-140 should do it
for ratio, it should be stamped in there. If not divide ring gear teeth by pinion teeth.
as for spl count, you would have to pop a c.clip and pull the axle to know for sure.

Assuming it's stock, and a 4.0, you should have 3.07 gears if it's a manual, and 3.55 for an automatic. A 99 should have the 29 spline rear axle, IINM.

agreed on all above... as long as it's factory and hasn't been put together from junkyard parts that is all correct.

Lube lockers are awesome.