• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

8.8 backing plae question...and brakes.

jeepdreamer

NAXJA Forum User
So for the third time, some @$$ clown has decided to move/vandalize my 8.8 I bought for my XJ. I haven't had time to do the install on it yet and now I need some advice. The last butt monkey that messed with it dropped it pretty hard and now the drivers side backing plate is all munched up. I think that some of the parking brake stuff uses the BP but since they made off with all my brake parts (and even the freakin wheel studs! FML!) I don't know how it goes together. Can anyone show me a pic of an 8.8 P brake assembled? Do I need the backing plate or can I just cut it off since its all crumpled.?. I'd appreciate and input folks...
Thanks!

I'm no expert, but I just rebuilt and regeared an 8.8 this week and installed it under my Cherokee; so it's still fresh in my mind. The sheetmetal backing plate is pop riveted to the bracket that the parking brake cable outer sheath attaches to. That bracket also supports the parking brake actuating lever. It all ends up being bolted together when the assembly is attached to the axle. The sheetmetal part along with the bracket support the parking brake shoes, so if you want the original Ford parking brake you need the whole assembly.

No rivets on the ones i have built, just one stamped steel plate. On mine I used air shears to trim the excess sheet metal from the backing plates exposing the backs of the brake rotors. It looks good, retains all of the parking brake mounts, and makes one less place for mud and shit to get crammed. sorry cant find any pics.