• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

89 Renix wont start

atom89xjlmt

NAXJA Forum User
Hi I am a newbie her and am hopping to get some knowledge on what to check on my 1989 cherokee. So here goes what is wrong with it. It wont fire up. The dist, was wore out and broke the sensor inside of it. I put a used dist. out of a running driving renix motor. I am getting spark out of the coil and to the end of the coil wire I am just nit getting any spark out of the plug wires at the plug. just to give a little info i have checked the spark I have checked the cps the dist. is spinning so it should get spark but it isnt. it has new cap rotor plug wires and plugs I need help please this is my only means of transportation

The most common thing is that people do not get the distributor indexed. In simple terms, that means that the distributor has to go in exactly the same way as the old one came out. When the engine is on the compression stroke and at top dead center, the rotor should be pointing just before the #1 plug wire. Search should yield tons of info on this.

You did remember to put the rotor back in, right. I was tired one night doing a swap and fought with an engine for quite some time, only to find the rotor laying on the valve cover.:doh:

Yeah I put the dist. back in the same exact spot as the original one was and yes I put the rotor back in and I have had the cap off several times since I put the dist. in

I'm with old_man on the distributor indexing. Even if your absolutely sure you put the replacement distributor in exactly how the original was I would still double check it.

I was tired one night doing a swap and fought with an engine for quite some time, only to find the rotor laying on the valve cover.:doh:

LOL, Join the old-engineers what did I forget this time club!!!!