• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Rough Country bushings

Oatmeal

NAXJA Forum User
Okay for all of you that have experienced premature failure of their leaf spring eye bushings.....do stock replacement bushings fit RC's springs?.....I'll probably go with 2 piece poly bushings for ease of replacement.

Not too worried about reduced flex or squeaks, just want to fix this.....easily.

Hans

I just installed a 4.5 x-series rough country lift and I'm experiencing the dreaded reverse shackle angle problem that others have had with their rear leaves. I had to wrestle with those suckers for a long time just to get the shackle bolted to the leaf spring and my shackle is bottomed out on the front of the shackle box even when the jeep is sitting on the ground. I have a 45 degree reverse shackle angle and it would probably be worse if the shackle could physically move further forward.

My question is, are the bushings in these leaves wearing prematurely because the leaves are too short... which results in a reverse shackle angle? There has to be ton of force pounding into the bushing when hitting a bump because the shackle has to rotate rearward AND downward.

Dear Rough Country: if you read this, can you please give me a smoking deal on a shackle relocation kit?

I just installed a 4.5 x-series rough country lift and I'm experiencing the dreaded reverse shackle angle problem that others have had with their rear leaves. I had to wrestle with those suckers for a long time just to get the shackle bolted to the leaf spring and my shackle is bottomed out on the front of the shackle box even when the jeep is sitting on the ground. I have a 45 degree reverse shackle angle and it would probably be worse if the shackle could physically move further forward.