• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

1990 cherokee heating problem under a loadascending a hill @ 30-60 mph or a long pass

stopman

NAXJA Forum User
I have a cherokee that tends to overheat ascending a pass or under a load, driving slow up a hill for long period of time.but normal driving or just wheelin as in rockcrawling does not over heat at all I have electric fans that seem to keep it cool could the problem be my torque converter
anyone have any ideas

stopman, I am currently experiencing the same condition in my 89. I am by no means an expert but I have heard that filling the closed radiator system can be tricky sometimes. I think i remember someone suggest getting the rear of the jeep higher than the front (put the back wheels on top of a curb or blocks) and try to fill. This is supposed to help the coolant pass air trapped inside the block some how and fill the system so it can opperat at the proper temperature. I am going to try this morning and will post the results.

Anything else to offer??

what is "overheating"? In the red, or just past 210? How heavy is your load? Is it stock? What size tires/gearing?
When is the last time you checked/changed/flushed coolant?
If you're hauling loads up grades, have you installed a tranny cooler?

What information have you already found by searching? Cherokess run hot, overheating issues are common, and there are plenty of discussions about it.

fallacist