PDA

View Full Version : Header install


california1999
July 26th, 2012, 19:49
So I figured my header is craked badley and figured I replace it. I have read some write ups and think Its prity straight forward. My only question is when reinstalling the new header how would I torque it if the bolts are so hard to get to. Everyone is using waracheting wrenches to remove some of the bolts so how could I torque them? Should I just snug them down?or is there a way to get to them with wrachet?

the_weirdo
July 26th, 2012, 20:00
I just snug them down as tight as I can manage. Has worked fine for the last 3 I did.

souske
July 26th, 2012, 20:57
I will torque the ones I can get to, and then try to approximate the torque value from those

ak95xj
July 27th, 2012, 01:28
You can use a flex socket..

http://s.sears.com/is/image/Sears/00943207000-1?wid=500&hei=500&op_sharpen=1

i was able to easily torque every bolt while leaning over the fender..Just use an extension to reach the bolts under the header

Talyn
July 27th, 2012, 07:58
Depending on the header your only option maybe a ratcheting wrench, especially with it still in the vehicle. Lone extensions to get you past the intake manifold, crowsfoot and a swivel or flew socket will help.

Lowrange2
July 27th, 2012, 08:23
You can use a flex socket..

http://s.sears.com/is/image/Sears/00943207000-1?wid=500&hei=500&op_sharpen=1

i was able to easily torque every bolt while leaning over the fender..Just use an extension to reach the bolts under the header

Yup, same here. Removing the air box and power steering pump makes tightening the bolts MUCH easier.